A Best Paper award was given out at each of the main conferences (Concur, Fmics, Formats, Qest).

Concur Best Paper

The following paper received the Best Paper award at Concur:

Léonard Brice, Jean-François Raskin and Marie Van Den Bogaard
Subgame-perfect Equilibria in Mean-payoff Games

Abstract: In this paper, we provide an effective characterization of all the subgame-perfect equilibria in infinite duration games played on finite graphs with mean-payoff objectives. To this end, we introduce the notion of requirement, and the notion of negotiation function. We establish that the plays that are supported by SPEs are exactly those that are consistent with the least fixed point of the negotiation function. Finally, we show that the negotiation function is piecewise linear, and can be analyzed using the linear algebraic tool box. As a corollary, we prove the decidability of the SPE constrained existence problem, whose status was left open in the literature.

Fmics Best Paper

A Springer-sponsored award was presented to the authors of the submission selected by the Program Committee as the FMICS 2021 Best Paper. The award went to the following paper:

Cláudio Belo Lourenço, Denis Cousineau, Florian Faissole, Claude Marché, David Mentré and Hiroaki Inoue
Automated Verification of Temporal Properties of Ladder Programs

This paper is an excellent example of the results that can be achieved in a joint academia-industry collaboration through the use of formal methods. This is also reflected in the following sentences from the reviewers:

  • "The paper is very relevant for FMICS: It shows a good example of how formal methods can be applied for industrial applications."
  • "This work is definitely of industrial interest for both legacy Ladder programs and programs to be developed."

Formats Best Paper

The Oded Maler Best Paper Award at Formats was awarded to:

Eugène Asarin, Thomas Ferrère, Dejan Ničković and Doǧan Ulus
On the complexity of Timed Pattern Matching

Qest Best Papers

The Best Paper at Qest was awarded to:

Grzegorz Kielanski and Benny Van Houdt
Performance analysis of work stealing strategies in large scale multi-threaded computing

Additionally, a best RAE paper award was given:

Carina Pilch, Stefan Schupp and Anne Remke
Optimizing reachability probabilities for a restricted class of Stochastic Hybrid Automata via Flowpipe-Construction